Go To Search

History of the Holcomb Police Department



Holcomb became an incorporated city in 1961, with a population of less than 200 citizens.  It's law enforcement needs were served by a part-time City Marshall and the Finney County Sheriff's Department. 


By 1982, Holcomb's population had grown to over 1,000 citizens.  At that time it was felt that there was a need for expanded law enforcement services.  In 1982, the Holcomb City Council hired a full-time law enforcement officer and authorized the development of the Holcomb Police Department.


The Holcomb Police Department began the D.A.R.E. program in the early 1990's and spent a lot of time teaching the students drug awareness.  The Holcomb Police Department became the Kansas Highway Patrol MVE designee for Finney County in the early to mid 1990's and continues in that aspect today.


The Holcomb Police Department has grown to three full-time officers, one part-time officer and one full-time clerk.


The Holcomb Police Department is very active.  It serves the needs of a diverse area and works very closely with other law enforcement agencies.  The communications and jail facilities are supplied via the Finney County Law Enforcement Center in Garden City, Kansas.




Past Chiefs of Police

Donnie Nevin

John Riffel

Mark Rhea

Kent Newport

Allan Collins

Jeff Sharp

Gordon Smith 
Clinton Thompson


Former Officers

 D. J. Dragonas  Randy Evans
Richard Stutzman
 Gary Condit
 Kevin Schnitker
 Mark Mayo
 Scott Chalmers
 Dan Hansen
 Curtis Tarpley
 Brent Holmes
 Dennis Sharp
 Steven Fay
 James Rethmel
 Brent Cranmer
 Lance Ulrich
 James Taylor
 James Gipson
 Gaye Nicholson
 David Kisela
 Daniel Rojas
 Ronnie Barnes, Sr.
 Tom Walters
 Pete Ibarra
 R. Jalomo
 J. Pyle
 Kirk Killman
 D. Diamond
 Matt Cole
 Darrell Walters
 Greg Cox
 James Bowlin